- The House of Flags Museum was founded Sept. 8, 2001, by George Scofield, a patriot in his own right with a passion for educating the youth about our nation's flag and its history. Both founder and original curator, Scofield dedicated the House of Flags Museum to the education of the flag's history, its symbolism and how we, as patriots, should properly respect it.
- The stated purpose of the House of Flags Museum is to respectfully and properly display a historical collection of more than 300 U.S., state, military and international flags. This unique collection includes all 27 official, full-sized U.S. flags from 1776 to 1960. The museum also hosts a number of educational programs and experiences, and it is happy to accommodate group or school tours at your request.
- The House of Flags is currently open in a temporary location on Saturdays from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m from March through November, or by appointment. The temporary 2,500 sq. ft. facility is located in the Green Creek area, 12 miles from Columbus, N.C.. Donations are accepted, and will be put toward securing a permanent location as well as support the educational video programs, guided and self-guided tours the House of Flags Museum offers its patrons.
previous post